NBA Slam Dunk Contest betting – Dwight is still right

by Dirty on May 22, 2013

2009 Dunk Contest odds

Picking the winner in the NBA Slam Dunk contest is a tricky sportsbook proposition; since there are new contestants so frequently, it’s tough for online betting fans to predict results. Fortunately, this year features plenty of dunkers who do have history at the event, including two former champions.

Rudy Fernandez is the new blood at this NBA betting event. He has that 6’6” athletic build ideal for dunkers, so he can’t be ignored. He’s still a long shot considering nerves could get the better of him.

Some NBA betting fans may be tempted to pick Denver’s J.R. Smith, but Smith couldn’t even reach the final in 2005 dunk contest betting. He had tough competition that year (Josh Smith, Amare Stoudemire), so he could rebound.

2006 winner Nate Robinson can’t be counted out, of course. He wowed basketball betting fans in the 2006 dunk contest odds by jumping over former champion Spud Webb and dunking despite being only 5’9”. Still, his dunks tend to be gimmicky and often require multiple attempts, so he may lead NBA betting fans astray.

The best pick: defending champion Dwight Howard. He has it all – charisma, creativity (the sticker dunk, the Superman dunk) and raw athleticism. Typically, superstars who are more than just dunkers do very well in dunk contest betting (Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant) and Howard proved that last year. Online sports betting fans should expect more creative ideas from Howard as he successfully defends the dunking crown.

Online betting pick: Dwight Howard

For more NBA betting analysis, NBA lines and March Madness betting, visit the Betting Edge at – also featuring UFC odds, golf betting, Daytona 500 odds and much more.

Previous post:

Next post: